Osoto Against a Kneeling Opponent

When your opponent goes to his knees in judo, the ref will usually call “matte” and give him a stalling penalty. Otherwise, it’s considered that they entered newaza (ground work). There’s a little hazy area (in terms of the refs having to make a judgement call) here if the opponent is on his knees but starts standing back up. The two videos below show cases when the refs give an ippon for an attack in such a situation. I can see an ippon for Tony in the second video, but I honestly can’t see an ippon for Anai in the first video. Either way, it seems wise, in general, to stay turtled up and take the penalty if your opponent still has a grip on you.

0 thoughts on “Osoto Against a Kneeling Opponent

  1. Eric

    In the second video I think it is a clear cut ippon. Blue was standing back up when white hit the throw. I also agree, it is a mistake to try to stand back up when your oppenent has grips on you, but I dont think you need to hunker down and risk a stalling penality. Once you are turtled on the ground you can attack with double legs or ankle picks from your knees. I have done this several times with no penalty called since at that point it was newaza.

    The first video is tricky, initially I agreed with you that this should not have been an ippon. But uppon further review, at 0:27 sec you can see white is up off the ground on both feet while getting thrown. True, blue basically picked him up to get him there, but none the less, white is on his feet and his body is off the ground. The other thing to consider is postion at 0:23 seconds. In this position blue had the over the back belt grip and it looks like white is thinking about a pickup. White did not get anyway close to pulling off the technque, but what if at 0:23 seconds white stood all the way up while holding that single leg and hit a HUGE WWF wrestling style slam? Would white have gotten an ippon for it? Probably, so why shouldnt blue get the same opportunity to score ippon from the same starting position? Certainly a questionable call, and I probably would not have called it ippon, but white could have avoided the problem by not false attacking and stalling.

    Reply
    1. Lex Post author

      The double legs I’ve seen you effectively use were when your opponent already let go of you and started visibly going for a newaza attack by trying to come around the turtle.

      Your what-if proposition is an interesting one but I think there’s a flaw in it in terms of the rules. I think that when an attack starts both people should be on their feet. So, white can start standing up and attack then, but blue can’t attack until white start standing up. Anai is probably the top guy at that tournament, and was in front of the hometown crowd. As the commentators kept saying, the refs often show bias towards the home judoka.

      Reply
  2. Eric

    I have hit the double a few times when the person tried to disengage and NOT enter into newaza. However, I have never successfully hit it in the situation you are discribing. In that situation I am suggesting using the attack with the sole intention of avoiding a stalling penality. I dont know how successful the attack would be, but you wont get penalized and you wont get thrown.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *